8–12 January 2018
Gaylord Palms, Kissimmee, Florida


Join us at the AIAA SciTech Forum as we celebrate our community's discoveries and achievements from the small but brilliantly simple innovations that affect everyday lives to the major discoveries and missions that fuel our collective human drive to explore and accomplish amazing things.

SciTech2017Award Group

Monday 8 January 2018

2018 Durand Lecture For Public Service and Luncheon

The Durand Lecture, named in honor of William F. Durand, presented for notable achievements by a scientific or technical leader whose contributions have led directly to the understanding and application of the science and technology of aeronautics and astronautics for the betterment of mankind. Lunch will be provided to the first 200 guests on a first-come, first-served basis. The lecture will be presented after lunch and is open to all attendees at that time.

Dr. C.D. Mote, Jr., President, National Academy of Engineering
The confluence of the future of aerospace and the intersection with societal needs.

2018 Associate Fellow Reception

1830-1915 hrs

2018 Associate Fellow Recognition Ceremony and Dinner (ticket required)

1930-2230 hrs

Each year, the Institute recognizes exemplary professionals for their accomplishments in engineering or scientific work, outstanding merit and contributions to the art, science, or technology of aeronautics or astronautics. The Class of 2018 Associate Fellows will be officially recognized this evening. Please support your colleagues, and join us for the induction of the 2018 Associate Fellows. Tickets to this celebrated event are available on a first-come, first-served basis and can be purchased for $100 via the AIAA SciTech registration, or onsite (based on availability).

Business attire/semi-formal attire is requested. 

Tuesday 9 January 2018

Dryden Lecture in Research

The Dryden Lecture in Research, named in honor of Dr. Hugh L. Dryden who was one of America's most prominent aeronautical engineers, showcases research scientists and engineers. The Lecture emphasizes the great importance of basic and applied research to the advancement in aeronautics and astronautics.

Graham V. Candler, McKnight Presidential Professor, Distinguished McKnight University Professor, and Russell J. Penrose Professor, Associate Department Head, Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, University of Minnesota
The evolution and application of design and analysis capability to enable future scramjet-powered hypersonic aircraft.

Recognition Luncheon: Celebrating Achievements in Aerospace Sciences and Information Systems (Ticket required)

Join colleagues and friends to celebrate innovations and achievements! A ticket for the luncheon is required and included in the registration fee where indicated. Additional tickets for guests may be purchased upon registration as space is available. The following awards will be presented:

The following awards will be presented:

  • Aerospace Guidance, Navigation and Control Award
  • deFlorez Award for Flight Simulation
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award
  • Intelligent Systems Award
  • Mechanics and Control of Flight Award
  • Survivability Award

The following Certificate of Merits for Best Papers will be presented:

  • Atmospheric Flight Mechanics Student Competition
  • Flow Control Best Paper
  • Fluid Dynamics Best Paper
  • Guidance, Navigation and Control Best Paper
  • Intelligent Systems Best Paper
  • Intelligent Paper Student Competition
  • Modeling and Simulation Best Paper

Thursday 11 January 2018

Recognition Luncheon: Celebrating Achievements in Aerospace Design/Structures and Aerospace Literature

  • Aerospace Design Engineering Award
  • Faculty Advisor Award
  • Gardner-Lasser Aerospace History Literature Award
  • History Manuscript Award
  • ICME Prize
  • Pendray Aerospace Literature Award
  • Structures, Structural Dynamics and Materials Award
  • Summerfield Book Award
  • Abe M. Zarem Award for Distinguished Achievement-Astronautics
  • Abe M. Zarem Educator Award

The following Certificate of Merits for Best Papers and Student Paper Competitions will be presented:

  • American Society for Composites Student Paper in Composites Award
  • CFD Best Paper
  • CFD Best Student Paper
  • Jefferson Goblet
  • Harry H. and Lois G. Hilton Student Paper Award in Structures
  • Lockheed Martin Student Paper Award in Structures
  • Southwest Research Institute Student Paper Award in Non-Deterministic Approaches
  • Theoretical Fluid Dynamics Conference Paper Award

Dates to Remember

  • Manuscript Deadline: 05 Dec 2017
  • Early Bird Reg Deadline: 18 Dec 2017
  • Cancellation Deadline: 18 Dec 2017

FAQsContact UsPoliciesMedia